The Canadian Hydronics Council (CHC) was founded as an independent not-for-profit trade association in 1963.  First Chairman was Jim Armstrong of S.A Armstrong.  Its goal was to promote the interests and prosperity of the Canadian manufacturers and wholesalers of modern hot water heating systems.  Because of the need for additional funding to carry on their schools and promotional programs, in 1967, under the Chairmanship of R.A. Orr, a merger with CIPH was approved by the CIPH Board.  CHC became a Council of the Canadian Institute of Plumbing & Heating with its own directors, funds, and headquartered in Montreal.  CIPH provides secretariat and an office for CHC.  Today the Council is headquartered in Toronto.

The Council is comprised of Manufacturers, their Sales Agents, Master Distributors and Wholesale Distributors. CHC provides industry with technical information and consumers with education on how hydronic systems work and their benefits. Hydronics publications authored by North America’s well-known authors (Holohan, Siegenthaler and Fey) are available through CHC. 

The Council works collaboratively with regulators and government to address issues related to hot water heating.  CHC also hosts and promotes heating training schools for the industry, including a two day introductory school.

CHC provides an industry viewpoint for policy and program development of standards and certification for modern hot water heating systems.  The Council is active with the Canadian Standards Association’s B214 Standard (Installation Code for Hydronic Heating Systems). The Code ensures safety, performance, serviceability, and longevity of Hydronic Heating Systems. The goal is to have the standard referenced in the next edition of the National Building Code (2010). There is interest from Provincial/Territorial jurisdictions to adopt the standard, once referenced in the National Building Code.

The Council promotes its programs through Region Hydronics Committees located in British Columbia, Calgary, Edmonton, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, Atlantic Canada and Newfoundland.